Let There Be Light

The strangest thing happened to me this morning.

The alarm had buzzed and so, as I do every morning, I turned it off, rolled over, and kept my eyes shut.  I lay there thinking of all the reasons I needed to get up, what I needed to do, how long it would take, realizing that every minute I stayed there thinking was a minute of stress I was adding to my morning. And yet, I still couldn’t bring myself to open my eyes.

Several minutes passed as I remained in that cartoon state where one side of my conscience was telling me to get up and the other was saying “just a couple minutes more.”  And then, this very strange thing happened.

The lights above my bed turned on.

Hello! Talk about a wake up call. I am sure there is a scientific explanation for why the lights went on of their own accord, but I’m not a science-y type of girl. The lights were sending me a clear message: “Enough! Stop thinking about what you need to do and just do it!!”

And so, I got up.

And I did all the morning things I had to do and got on with my day.  And I kept thinking…I’ve got to write about this.  And then I wondered whether readers would really believe I didn’t make this up. Was it all an invention in order to put forth that overused, annoying message–“Just do it!”–in a new way?

Well, I am telling you it really happened. And I’m not sure as I write this that the total weirdness of it comes through. So just for a second, go lie down in a very dark room and then picture it gradually but quickly getting lighter and lighter until the room is brightly lit. Like a time lapse scene from a movie only it’s the chandelier and not the sun that’s lighting up your room.

So what’s the takeaway? I think this is something all of us need. And often. Not necessarily to get ourselves out of bed but to get ourselves moving towards something we want but aren’t doing enough to get. It applies to many facets of our lives but of course, since this is GreenlightCard.com’s blog, I’m especially thinking about dating.

Too often, we want to date but we let our busy lives serve as an excuse for not making any effort to meet someone. So we convince ourselves we’re too busy or our lives are too complicated or that we know every available person in town and none of them are right for us.

Enough! Stop thinking about what you need to do and just do it.

You know you won’t meet anyone if you go home after work and just stay there, night after night. You know you won’t meet anyone new if you continue to move in the same exact circles week after week after week. And you know you are VERY UNLIKELY to get a date with the person you’ve been dreaming of if you don’t at least do something obvious to let that person know you’re interested. (Hint, hint–this is where your Greenlight Cards come in handy!)

I’m grateful the lights went on this morning. My day started out smoothly and I’m getting things done. I feel confident and able. And I’ll remember the feeling tomorrow when my alarm buzzes. Maybe, just maybe, it’ll encourage me to get up instead of rolling over for that last five minutes of unproductive procrastination.

As long as the lights don’t decide to turn themselves on at 6:40 a.m. on Saturday morning, I’m good.

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Greenlighting, Inspiration

Leave a Reply

